Shorten your to do list and get more done

by weeklyorganizingtips

Image

It been a while since I gave an organizing tip, what can I say? It’s been a busy few months. Between client work, an event I’m planning for the Spring and household duties, my to do list is overflowing. Some days I feel like burying my head in my pillow and forgetting the ever growing list. However, like most things in our lives, if we don’t take care of them they don’t go away they grow and create even more stress and anxiety.

My problem can be that sometimes I overbook myself and I become so overwhelmed that I don’t get half of my list done and then I feel bad. Stop feeling bad and cut your list back. Don’t overbook yourself – that’s a recipe for failure before you even start your day.

I was discussing this with my husband a few weeks ago and he had a brilliant solution. He takes his top three priorities every day, writes them down where he could see them and focused on completing those tasks everyday. Brilliant!

This is a solution everyone can try. If you focus on the top three things that need to happen everyday then you will always move projects and to dos along. It might feel like a slow process somedays, but try it for a week and see what you accomplish.

I would love to know if you try this system and if it works for you.

Happy organizing!

